Thanks for the Kind Words

Being both a performer and a public speaker means that I am frequently approached by people who have seen me play my instruments or give a talk. Though I am not trying to sound pretentious, an issue I inevitably face within these conversations is the presence of a compliment. Never get me wrong, I highly appreciate these encounters and love to discuss both music and autism with anybody who wants to. However, whenever I am complimented, no matter how prepared I am to accept it, I always feel like I am caught off-guard.

To be complimented means that I have caused an effect upon another person through the use of either my words or music. The fact that this is possible to me is still astounding, and I can sometimes struggle to make my response humble yet appreciative. When I am faced with a compliment as a comment on my blog or on my YouTube channel I find it much easier to form a response as I am not expected to respond immediately and the comment does not place itself in the context of a complete conversation. When complimented in person I am always thrown off-guard by the passage of emotions that occurs between me and the person which is lacking in virtual compliments.

Leave a Reply

