Day 23: I Learn Cello

Now, I have had my cello for about three or four years, but it was not until a month or two ago that I really began to study the instrument. I bought myself Book 2 of the Suzuki Cello School and got down to business, and then school happened and I neglected my practicing. Today, though, I finally got a chance to go out and get Book 3 (and on the way back stopped at Rita’s for some Swedish Fish ice…I was mildly disappointed that it does not contain real chunks of Swedish Fish) and I sat down and continued what I had started two months ago. After a day of crocheting, cello-ing, and playing Okami on the PS2, I am afraid I cannot expend any more brain power for a thoughtful and insightful blog post. I figured I might as well show you instead what I have done with my cello.

DISCLAIMER: My bowing position is horrid. Blame my small fingers, my fine motor skill problems, or my inability to follow simple photo instructions on how to hold a dang bow, if you will, but I promise I will try to work on that. If anybody has any tips, feel free to share them, but I swear I am bow-impaired.

So without any further ado, here is Boccherini’s Minuet on cello (please try to enjoy!):

4 responses to “Day 23: I Learn Cello

  1. guess what?? http://www.themusicalautist.com

    you totally rock!!! Will you perform a piece of music and a blog entry specifically for other people on the spectrum to learn self-advocacy? I see you as a musical autist role model. 🙂

    ps. hope you like the blog post. If not, just say the word and I will change anything you want….

    • Thanks for the post and the kind words! I love the post! I am all for dedicating a performance to people on the spectrum, but I have already made several posts about self-advocacy. Are you looking for a specific view on self-advocacy?

  2. whoah this blog is great i love reading your posts. Keep up the good work! You know, a lot of people are looking around for this info, you could aid them greatly.

  3. Jesus Christ there is plenty of spammy comments on this site. Have you ever believed about attempting to remove them or putting in a extension?

Leave a Reply

