Are you sure you have Asperger’s?

I’m not Adam Lambert, I’m James Durbin. I don’t want to be Adam Lambert, I’m James Durbin. I’m never going to be Adam Lambert, because I’m James Durbin.

For being down-to-earth and one-sided people, we Aspies can be extremely two-faced. We carry reputations of being true to ourselves and stubborn to the point that we refuse to do things that do not satisfy us, but our physical manifestation of our symptoms can really make us seem like many different people. The situation that we are in at any given moment can decide whether we are conspicuously or obviously autistic.

For me, music is the factor that can alter my state of mind. I find that after spending a long period practicing or listening to music that I can think much more clearly and have a much easier time talking to people. In fact, it is the students who are in performance classes with me who most often challenge my Asperger’s diagnosis, for they have trouble identifying symptoms.

Another Aspie who reminds me every week of the healing powers of music is James Durbin, a finalist on American Idol. The rocker’s Tourette’s and Asperger’s symptoms are so well-concealed during his on-stage performances that even my mother challenged his diagnoses. However, in interviews like this one, his various tics and social hiccups are painfully clear. Even then, James is able to maintain his sense of self even while traveling between mental realms and emphasizes his individuality in every situation. James’ pure self is the one that is present on stage every Wednesday, unhindered by symptoms. For that I admire him and hope that I can somehow bridge the gap between my two selves like he did.

3 responses to “Are you sure you have Asperger’s?

  1. Hi!! you are so cool!!!

    we just started this new blog called http://www.TheMusicalAutist.com

    can we showcase your talent on the blog? would you be interested in writing and/or performing music with us?

    you totally rock!!!!!
    check out the blog and let us know what you think.
    we think, there’s too many people these days freaking out about autism, being scared of it or focusing on the all the bad stuff. We’re all about celebrating the awesomeness of such amazing musical gifts that come out of people on the spectrum, so easily. I’m that kind of teacher, that just wants to help the positive shine for my students. I will quote myself: “I’m kinda like Temple’s science teacher, but with music!”

    you rock!

    Ms.CJ :^)

    • Hi, Ms. CJ,
      I am glad that you enjoyed my blog. I love your idea of having a showcase of spectrum musicians and I would love to collaborate with you. I do not write music, but I love to perform whenever I get the chance. Please let me know what I can do to help you out!

      Thanks,
      Nicole

  2. yay! that sounds fantastic. I’d love to showcase some of your videos. You could email me your favorite ones, with a little bio about yourself. I’m classically trained (you can see a vid of me playing Liszt, on the blog), and I never started improvising or writing songs until I was in my late 20s, so, you never know! 🙂 Lol – oh that’s right….I actually said that in the blog I posted last night! That was a tough blog entry for me, because the topics are so controversial, but I’m glad I put the hours into it because now I can direct people to a place where they can really get a good idea of where I’m coming from. Hey are you on FB or twitter? If you are, hopefully they don’t suck up too much of your time! 🙂

Leave a Reply

